A Few of My Favorite Things

As I rack my mind for what to write next I have a million ideas running through this cluttered brain of mine. SO, I have decided to write about a few of my loves in life. I will warn you that the following will be very random, as I tend to be 🙂

Turnbough Family in May 2009, right before our very first family vacation!

Turnbough family in May 2009, right before our first family vacation.

My very first favorite thing in my life is my family. I love and adore my family (this will most likely be my next blog topic!). I am so thankful for my Mom and Dad who raised us in such a loving, godly, and fun environment. I have such great memories of my childhood (another great post in my mind) and it is because of my Mom, Dad, and brother. I would not be who I am today without these three core people in my life. Then Brooke came into my/our lives…she has forever changed my life. I look up to her in so many ways, she is my sister, and I love her as if we had the same blood. Mason came into our family four years ago and has changed my view on life and love. My life is wonderful, fun, exciting, romantic, and perfect because of my husband. Mason would not be who he is without his parents. My “second parents” (I hate the term in-laws) are amazing. I cannot believe how blessed I am to have Kathy and Don-o as my other parents. I love being a part of their family. My family will always be the closest people to my heart. I should stop here, if not I will ruin my next blog 😉


Mandy Family, right after our first family vacation in August 2008.

Mandy Family, right after our first family vacation in August 2008.

I also love my extended family…great grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins and friends. I love getting together with my family, even though it is never often enough. We always have a great laugh, tasty food, and another wonderful memory once we are done.

I love our dog baby Max. He is the sweetest little man around. We don’t need human babies now that we have Max. He acts like one sometimes, waking us up at night to eat, go to the bathroom, be pampered, whatever he needs. Max is truly the best dog I’ve ever known. He loves to snuggle which makes me so happy. He gets so excited to see us and has such a fun and sweet personality. He makes us laugh often and smile daily. He makes my life better, when I am down he knows to come over and lick my tears or just lay on my chest. So sweet – the sweetest for sure.

Max, Christmas Eve 2008

Max, Christmas Eve 2008

I love my friends. God has blessed me with amazing friends throughout my life. I have not always been the best friend, but my friends are loyal and patient with me. I have my “Spain friends,” “Nashville friends,” “New York friends,” and my “Family friends.” Each of my friends are unique in their own way. They probably wouldn’t be the closest of friends if I got them all together, but to me they are essential. I wouldn’t say that I have one particular group of friends but God has given me friends for every journey in my life and I am forever thankful. I have so many great memories made with my besties. Thank you for being you…you know who you are. Man, I think this should be another blog.

One word…Chocolate. Enough said.

JUST KIDDING, I could write a few pages on how I adore chocolate. It makes me happy on a daily basis. Here are a few of my favorite adjectives for one of my favorite things: decadent, sensuous, milky, dark, sinful, powerful, addictive, rich, amazing, versatile, perfect. Chocolate is to Melissa as football is to Mason.

This is usually how I look at chocolate.

This is usually how I look at chocolate.

I also love watching old family videos. As I said earlier most of my favorite memories are of my family and, if you know my Mama you know her third arm is a camcorder! In the past I was frustrated about this, but now I LOVE it and am forever thankful – now I am trying to keep on with this wonderful custom. Being far away from our family can be pretty lonely at times, so, sometimes I get together a few of my favorite things…Mason, Max, Chocolate and a fun home video. I love reliving some of those wonderful times: birthdays, Christmases, vacations, picnics, family nights, M&B’s wedding, our wedding, the beach trips, family coming to see us, first time meeting Andresito, first time meeting Daniel and Caroline. That leads me to another one of my favorite joys in life.

Three adorable little ones-May 2009. I need a better picture of the three of them together!

Three adorable little ones-May 2009. I need a better picture of the three of them together!

I love Andrew, Caroline, and Daniel more than I ever thought possible. I often wonder how I will be able to love our own children more, it doesn’t seem possible, even though I am assured it is by many people, I am not convinced. They bring so much joy, laughter, fun, excitement, and love. Andresito is growing up so quickly. He is no longer a baby in my mind, he is a little boy. I remember the first time I saw him outside of the NICU, I cried. I couldn’t keep my eyes off of him…such a beautiful angel. He has changed our family and continues to do so. Most of the conversations with my family tend to end up being about the latest hilarious thing he is doing or saying…which seems to be endless. I am so lucky to be his aunt: thank you Andresito for being the smart, fun, adorable little man that you are. Caroline is such a friendly girl, she just makes me want to be happy. Her smiles, big blue eyes, chubby cheeks…delightful. She is only 10 months old but seems to be so sure of herself in a humble way. I love that about her. Daniel = snuggly, and we all know I love a good snuggle bug. He is calm, laid back, and loving…simply charming. I would give my last penny to them, I would die for them, they have me wrapped around their itty bitty beautiful fingers. I never thought I would feel this way. Thank you Mateo and Brooke for giving me three of the most joyful parts of my life.

Speaking of Mateo…I love hearing him sing and play the piano. It has almost always been one of my favorite things in life. He is so very talented, the most talented person I have ever met. I will go on more about my talented brother with my next post. But for now I will stop with saying that I love him and I look up to him so much and I probably don’t show it enough. I am so proud of you.

Cooking and baking are a few more of my favorite things. I truly enjoy looking through cookbooks and finding new tasty delights. Watching Mason try my new savory treats is a ton of fun. Some are delectable and others are distasteful. Making something out of nothing is amusing in my little world. I am not a top chef but I am trying to learn through experiences, thanks for being my guinea pig honey.

There is nothing like a clean apartment. I really enjoy cleaning and organizing. I look forward to settling down in ten years (literally) and organizing what will be our home for more than three years. I love the smell of a new and clean home. The feel of a speckless floor under my feet and the crisp feeling of clean sheets as I snuggle in to dream. Nothing like cleanliness.

Napping on the first day the the beach.

Napping on the first day the the beach.

I guess I should talk about sleep now. I hate it – I rarely can sleep. I really don’t understand those people who can sleep all day long. YEAH RIGHT!!!!!! I should simply paste all the pictures of me sleeping, only the ones within the last few years would take up a few dozen pages. I often think I have something medically wrong with me because of the time I can spend in one day sleeping. It is so relaxing. I love to snuggle up in our cushy bed or comfy couch with a warm blanket – nowhere to go, all the phones silent, fan blowing…complete tranquility.

There are many more things in life that I enjoy, but I think this is enough for now. I have a feeling I will continue this list later on. So, what are a few of YOUR favorite things?

Signed,

green-mm

3 Comments

Filed under Miscellany and Tomfoolery

3 responses to “A Few of My Favorite Things

  1. atletico0517

    I was glad to see a new post from you both! It makes for exciting computer time for me. 🙂
    I loved reading your post and some of your favorite things. I think I knew all of them but still fun to read. We love you and are thankful to have YOU in our lives…One of my favorite lines from this post is “Chocolate is to Melissa as football is to Mason.” I’m thinking I might try to make you some chocolate pots while you are here.

  2. Abuela

    Thank you for the great post!!! I love you so very much!

  3. Natalie

    I love family, friends, chocolate, office supplies, good books, coffee, a warm blanket, walks in the woods, and pie. All sorts of pies…

Leave a Reply

