Wishing….

I could:

1) Be more crafty. I want to crotchet, paint, sew, wrap beautiful parcels, make memorable scrapbooks, take enchanting photographs…it would be awesome.

2) Love working out. I hear there are people out there who actually love working out. Really? Hmm….not sure it’s possible.

3) Make amazing meals. I would love to be a Julia Child or a  Paula Deen of sorts!! I wish I had the energy to make creative dishes instead of always making casseroles, chili, spaghetti, and tacos. I want to cook with fresh vegetables making scrumptiously beautiful dishes.

4) BAKE!!! I love sweets. I would love to make uniquely savory treats….the ones that not only taste amazing but look gorgeous too, you know the ones? Cakes, cupcakes, cookies, tarts, pies, trifles….pure sweetness. (Of course I’d really need to work on #2)

5) Mason and I would really love to own our own home one day. Imagine driving into a small rounded courtyard, parking your car in front of our quaint cottage style home. Enter in through a rounded red door onto dark hardwood floors. The smell of homemade goodies coming from our perfectly modern kitchen will fill your nose immediately as you travel through each room. We would love to have an English garden nestled around a refreshing pool in the back. We have lots of dreams for our home, even though we won’t be able to have it for at least ten years! We tend to dream about our home quite often.

6) I would love to have a vegetable and fruit garden.  Perfect fix for my #3 wish. Problem: I have killed every plant I have ever owned.

7) Love reading. When I think of my sister (Brooke), I think of reading (among many other wonderful things). She really loves to read and it shows in their family. I really admire this. I have loved reading certain books, but in general I do not love reading. I think I simply need to find more books that I love. I want our children to love reading. Good thing they are going to have a Daddy that is such a great scholar.

8) I want to be smart. Again, Mason is a great scholar. He is really smart. Probably one of the smartest people I have ever met. God has gifted me in other ways, but brains simply isn’t one of them. I want to know more about politics, religion, pop culture, medicine….in order to know more one has to read more. Hence my problem (#7). Mason deserves to have more intelligent conversations.

9) I wish I could accept the body God gave me. I wish I had a better body image. As I prepare for motherhood I am fearful of the possibility of having a girl (no, we still are not finding out what the sex is!!). If we ever have daughters, I want to raise them to be thankful for the body that God gave them. To respect themselves and not sell themselves short. To see themselves as our Heavenly Father sees them. I don’t know how to do this myself, so how will I teach them?

10) Decorate our home perfectly. I see a lot of styles that I love but I don’t know how to mix and match them in order for it to look harmonious. I have no idea what kind of furniture to buy or paint to use. I guess I want the perfect home that I can be really proud of but I have no idea how to get there.  I wish I could do it on my own, without help, so I could get the credit. I don’t forsee this happening. I need help as we move down to the beach. Any takers? Free beach front stay!!

These are some of the things I wish for…I think I am a little depressed after writing this post. I am feeling a little like a failure at this point 🙂 I have a lot to do!!!

What do you wish?

Signed,

6 Comments

Filed under Miscellany and Tomfoolery, Parenthood/Pregnancy, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Wishing….

  1. abuela

    Great post! I will enjoy seeing and doing some of your wish list! You are very talented! I wish I could sing like W. Houston. I would love to write a book! My favorite thing is being with you guys!

  2. For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them!

  3. My wish is for you is to remember how precious, loved and treasured you are by God who created and made you the wonderful person you are today! You are loved by your husband, family and friends, who could not possibly love you any more if you were a better painter, reader, cook or scrapbooker! You are the best, a blessing to so many and we are very thankful for you! PS…You are going to be a wonderful Mother!

  4. Hey friend…I am on that wishing train too much myself! It is easy to ride. The truth is, I think, that us gals tend to think that we aren’t that great at much. I see so many flaws in myself. I am pretty sure I could add my signature to just about all of your wishes! I am learning…slowly but surely that its ok to be me…that I am not half bad at much (ha ha)…and truth be told there are many things I wish I could have/do that you already have !!!—Your goregous wardrobe, your big city, your travels, your casseroles, your hair…yeah that one is pretty high up! Anyways, you got a lot chica…and I will take you up on the beach front offer :)…I love me some paint swatches!!

  5. LaRue

    God grant me the serenity
    to accept the things I cannot change;
    courage to change the things I can;
    and wisdom to know the difference.

    Lissy-Lou…it’s great to have goals, dreams, aspirations, (even if they’re not always met), to be always learning and improving. If you achieved everything right now, what would there be to look forward to? It takes time to develop all the things you want to do. Give yourself a chance to do that. And for the ones that may never be reached, well, maybe they don’t need to be. So, use what God gave you to the best of your ability and leave the rest to Him. Love you.

  6. atletico0517

    So, I want to say a lot but maybe I should just say “ditto” to some of the previous comments!
    There is a devotional book that I hear is good and I thought about doing…maybe we could do it together. We’ll talk.
    A few things I wish for…
    *A maid to come for the sole purpose of cleaning the food from under the high chairs! 🙂
    *A flatter stomach…I am SO thankful for C and D but their coming at the same time didn’t do wonders for my stomach.:)
    *That I wasn’t a worrier…
    A few things I appreciate/like about you…
    *your honesty and openness
    *your way with people…
    *that you are a nurse…I could never do those things! But God gave you those gifts…and the brain to be a nurse.
    Te quiero MUCHO!

Leave a Reply

