Transition & Random Thoughts

Well, the day has finally arrived. For five years we have been anticipating Mason’s graduation from his very intense Surgery Residency. I cannot express how very proud I am of my husband. He is an amazing surgeon. At the graduation there were a ton of people who came up to us to say how much they loved and respected Mason. A lot of the residents said he was their favorite chief resident. He even won best resident teacher award, I am not surprised, Mason is also an amazing teacher…he is the one who helped me pass the NCLEX. Baby M, you are going to love having such a smart, patient and wonderful teacher as your Daddy.

The dreaded day finally arrived. The day we knew we would be incredibly sad. The day we had to say goodbye to the only life we’ve known as a married couple, the life we found some of our closest friends, the life we have loved living. It was as emotional as I thought it would be and as heart wrenching as I thought it would be. I’ve cried a lot in the last few weeks. It was also a stressful time with trying to move all of our stuff, saying goodbye, wrapping up loose ends with our jobs, etc. I am glad it is over but wish we could have savored every moment a bit more so than we did. Besides being an amazing surgeon and an amazing teacher, Mason is also an outstanding husband…he is so patient with my crying spells and so patient with me overall. I do not deserve him, really, I don’t. I must admit that it was pretty depressing when we drove out from the Holland Tunnel and saw the glorious New York City skyline one last time. I have really loved our life there and will miss it daily. We have been incredibly blessed to have been able to live there and experience all the marvelously unique living NYC has to offer.

We are excited about the next phase in our lives too, so it’s not all depressing! We purchased our first car yesterday, a 2010 Hyundai Santa Fe. It’s a bluish-silver color and we love it. Later on this week we will travel down to Destin where we will experience the next four years of our adventure. We will see where our first baby will be born (possibly our second!), where we will begin to raise our family, where Mason will be an attending for the first time and a U.S. Air Force Surgeon for the first time, and where I will experience working only as a stay at home mom. It is going to be interesting. We are excited about living on the beach. It will be quite a change waking up every morning to the sound of waves as opposed to sirens and traffic and the site of the water crashing onto the coast instead of the Empire State Building and the rest of the concrete jungle that is the City. I hope it will be a good change. I think it will be.

I have moved many times in my lifetime and it has never been easy. My parents did a great job of making us feel at home no matter where we were. They were our “security”…no matter what changes occurred, they were always “there”. I think that is one of the reasons I feel such a deep connection to my Mom, Dad and brother…no matter what, I knew I could rely on them. I don’t really have that anymore. Of course, they are still “there” in spirit but not physically. This is hard. So, this naturally leads to Mason and I relying more on each other, for this I am thankful. Transition is hard. Really hard.  I am so grateful to have friends and family who are so supportive…I feel very cared for. I am getting more excited about this change of life, realizing that there will be bumps in the road, of course. But, like I said, this is bringing me even closer to the man I love…so it is all ok. It is an exciting time of newness. I will be positive.

Well, this post is nothing of what I set out for it to be, but here it is, none-the-less. I want to finish this post so I can start a new one to our baby boy.

Signed,

3 Comments

Filed under Miscellany and Tomfoolery, New York, Parenthood/Pregnancy

3 responses to “Transition & Random Thoughts

  1. abuela

    I am crying! Great blog! Love you guys!!

  2. abuela

    I would like to hear from you, Mason! I told Melissa the other day, what a wonderful daddy you will be!

  3. atletico0517

    We are praying for you guys and all of these transitions. One day at a time and cry as often as you need to! We love you guys!!

Leave a Reply

