In Just One Year

Dearest Liam,

Today we had your very first birthday party! You are a big ONE year old. I am so very proud of you. As I type this I have home videos playing of the day you were born, your first car ride, your first walk, your first bath. It brings tears to my eyes. So much has changed in just one year. I never knew it was possible to love someone unconditionally until you came along. I never knew what it was like to want to give of myself completely to another being until you were born. I never realized how lacking I am in so many areas and how I want to be a better person in every way until I met you. I could have never imagined watching my heart walk this earth (outside of my body) until you were given to us. You have been such a blessing and a gift in so many ways.

I know I have already made so many mistakes and I am sure I will make many more. I am sorry honey. Please know I am trying to improve as your Mommy and as a human being because of YOU. You deserve the best and I am trying to be that for you. I pray that you will forgive me for my short comings and love me despite my faults.

Here are some of the highlights of this past year for me:

– The moment I laid eyes on you for the first time. This was a life changing event.

– Breastfeeding, I loved the bond and closeness that it brought.

– Watching you smile for the first time, the sixth time, the one hundredth time…your perfect smile lights my world.

– Hearing you laugh. Every time I hear you laugh I can’t help but laugh myself.

– Watching you sleep. In the beginning it was like a miracle when you slept so I would cherish those moments and run off to nap myself. Now you are a great sleeper and I love the peacefulness that I see when you lie in your crib dreaming sweet dreams.

– Experiencing all your “firsts”. You have grown from a tiny newborn to a fun and curious toddler.  Not every step has been easy but I will cherish each and every one.

– Seeing the world through your eyes. Everything seems to intrigue you.

– Reading books with you.

– Watching you play and love on your amazing Daddy. (You really do have the best Daddy in the world. He is wonderful in every way and we are beyond blessed to have him. I know one day you will look up to him and respect him like I do.)

Liam, there are so many other things that I love about you and that I will carry in my heart always. I am so thankful to be your Mama! I look forward to waking up to your sweet and smiling face every morning. And to giving you kisses and snuggles before every bedtime. And to all the fun in between. You are my personal gift from our Heavenly Father and I hope that I will be able to show you this in a real and tangible way.

Love ALWAYS,

Mommy/Mama

1 Comment

Filed under Liam, Parenthood/Pregnancy

One response to “In Just One Year

  1. Abuela

    Great post! Thanks for sharing! I am so thankful for Liam ,what JOY ! Mommy and Daddy , Liam is blessed to have you as his parents! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

